Day 251 of 365: Double Duty

Today started by participating in a 3 KM family walk with my dad and my niece. This was my father’s first time participating in a run/walk event and my niece’s second time participating. As I mentioned in an earlier post, my dad has recently started walking 4-5 days per week. Today’s walk was a little shorter than he’s been doing however it had a lot of rolling hills. He did great because he maintained the same pace that he usually walks on flat land.

20130908-225759.jpg

After this morning’s event was done, I had to run my 16 KM long slow run. It was not a great run. I’m not sure if it was because I was running in the afternoon instead of first thing in the morning or if I was slightly dehydrated, or what.

At 11.5 KM, my GPS watch died. I knew the battery was low but I thought I would make it. My watch had just beeped for a walk break (being grateful for each and every break today) and after what seemed to be too long a walk break, I checked my watch only to see that it was dead. Luckily I have a Running Room app on my phone that has a 10 and 1 running tool. I flipped to that right away and got back on track. I continued to follow my planned route. Overall, I did somewhere between 15-16 KM during today’s run in about two hours.

Leave a Reply

