Day 57 of 365: Committed!

Finish Line Ahead

When I arrived home after work, the first priority was to get the laundry in the washer.  After that I headed down to the gym and spent 45 minutes running intervals on the treadmill.  Once I got back upstairs and cleaned up, I then started the second load of laundry.  This load is almost done.  For anyone who has not seen my previous post about laundry, the washing machine takes two hours and there are no dryers here in Poland.  Everything dries on a rack.

Yesterday I registered for the 2013 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon.  The total cost was just over $100 once the processing fees, engraved backing for medal with completion time and taxes were all tallied up.  The half will happen on October 20th.  The last time I ran this half, which is also the last time I ran a half, was in 2003.  So ten years later and I’m making a come back.

The running that I’m doing now, I really consider that training for the half.  By the end of June I want to be comfortably running 12-14 KM.  (Right now I’m comfortable with 8KM and ready to increase.)  My plan is to sign up with the Running Room for their half marathon clinic to guide me and support me through the rest of the distance.

I’m feeling really good about running the half in October.  I have the race route printed and sitting at my desk at work.  It’s a great motivator on days when I’m thinking I’m too tired.  At the same time it reminds me of all of my goals for this year.  Running the half is just one goal in 2013.  But thinking of one reminds me of all.

Leave a Reply

