Day 50 of 365: Moving Forward

When my alarm went off at 6:15 AM, I did not get up.  Instead I realized I was getting some really good sleep and decided I’d benefit more from sleeping in and working out later than getting up and exercising.  All day today I knew I had made the right choice.  My energy level felt really good and when it was time to exercise after work, I did not dread it.  My circuit training today was a full body routine and included a set of Tabata skaters.  I’m not sure I will be able to walk tomorrow but hopefully by the time I go running after work, my legs will have loosened up.

Earlier today, I received an email from a friend.  He was telling me that he has been holding off from running.  Part of the reason is because he knows he has let himself slip since he achieved a 1:56 half marathon four years ago.  For the last 10 years, I have not run.  At first I was burned out from two years of solid running.  I was over committed and came to a crashing halt, quite literally.  About three years after that, I came to a point were I too had let myself slip and was afraid of how bad I would be in comparison to where I used to be.  Now, ten quick years later, I’m focused to get back to where I was accepting the fact that it took me time to get there and it will take me time to get there again.

Last week, I came across my race results from a hilly 5KM race in High Park in April of 2003.  I finished that race in 28 minutes and was fourth in my age group.  I remember that day like it was only a year ago.  It was one of my best finishes and because it was hilly, it gave me confidence to push myself that much more on flat routes.  It is very easy to look back and think if only I never stopped.  But I did and now I will move forward, work hard, train like the experienced runner that I am and I will get back to my 28 minute hilly 5KM.  I’m not sure when I will get there but I have no doubt that I will.

Progress is rarely a straight line. There are always bumps in the road, but you can make the choice to keep looking ahead.”  ~Kara Goucher

One thought on “Day 50 of 365: Moving Forward

  1. Lea says:

    You are really doing great and an inspiration to those that are not currently active that we may be again in future!

Leave a Reply

